Second impressions

First dates I don’t mind so much – there’s always the anticipation, the wondering how it’s going to go, the comfort in knowing that this person hasn’t yet heard all my good jokes yet…

Second dates?  Sometimes I wonder if on the first date I were so focused on making a good impression that I failed to notice the other person.  Case in point:  my date tonight.

We were meeting at a restaurant.  She got there first and texted me where she was sitting.  I walked in.  Looked around.  Barely even recognized her.

*sigh*

Now, granted, I hadn’t seen her in almost 2 months.  We live several hours from each other, so we hadn’t gotten together since that first get together awhile ago.  But – still – don’t you think I should recognize her?  I know I’m not good with details.  Or remembering faces.  Or names.  Or, uh, wait… what was I saying…? (Hmm.  I’m starting to think I need to get checked for Alzheimer’s.)

As I walked up to the table, I was a little relieved that she looked more familiar to me.  And yet- not really what I remembered.  Okay, a disclaimer – I’m going to sound like an ass here and I’m fully aware of that.  Here it is:  she wasn’t nearly as cute as I remembered.  There you have it. I’m not all about looks, but I’d be lying if I said it didn’t matter at all to me. And seeing her there, I was disappointed.  And confused why my first impression was so different than my second.

Anyway.  The date itself?  Nice enough.  I found my attention wandering a bit and thinking more of when I might get home so I could get to bed early, which is never a good sign.  Just something about her, something that I hadn’t realized the first time through, that just didn’t click for me.

And then on the way home… maybe things are like this now … she texted me FOUR TIMES before I hit my driveway, none of which I had answered (because I was driving, of course… that’s not safe, you know).  I’m guessing that she had a more favorable second impression than I did.

I don’t know where I’m going with this, really.  I’m kind of just thinking out loud, I suppose.  This is about how my dating life has gone lately.  Which is:  nowhere.

Oh well.  At least I enjoy the first dates.  So, there’s that, at least.  Seems I’m going to have a lot of them at this rate.

Leave a Reply

