Happy Friday #4: Downtime

(on Fridays around these parts, I take a little time to make sure that all the happy things happening in my life get a shout out)

It’s been an odd sort of week for me.  I’m usually a pretty scheduled person – it suits me, it suits my lifestyle.  And plus, I find that unscheduled time routinely devolves into me playing mindless Facebook games for hours on end (really, how much Bejeweled Blitz can one person play?  Don’t answer that…).

This week, though, my personal trainer — whom I usually see 3 days a week — was on vacation.  And so my normal day-to-day was all shot to hell with extra time that I had no idea what to do with.

I thought it was be an intensive swim/bike/run kind of week (I’m a triathlete of sorts).  I love my strength training (mostly because I *heart* my trainer) but it does make it more difficult to get my triathlon training in, both time-wise and because sometimes I’ll be sore from lifting in a way that compromises the swim/bike/run.  So, I figured this week would be a smörgåsbord of  runs and bike rides and the occasional swim (swimming is not my most favorite of activities) without strength training to get in the way.

Instead, this week has turned into one big rest/recovery week.  I haven’t seen the inside of the gym (not even to do the strength training homework that I was given) and have barely done anything else, either.  I’ve napped.  Worked on a getting a few things done on the computer.  Rationalized why it wouldn’t be prudent for me to actually do Ironman Wisconsin this fall.  All sorts of fun things.

And honestly?  I’ve enjoyed the downtime.  Not that I’m over-trained (to be “over” trained, one must train to begin with, right?), but I’ve been doing this for long enough now (around 6 years) that I think I might be ready for something new.

So, this week has been about doing some thinking on what I want to be when I grow up.  Or at least what I want to try to do as I attempt to grow up.

And I still haven’t come to any conclusions.  I know I need to remain active — to not be physically active for me is a sentence of depression and crankiness and unhappiness.  I’m a much nicer person to be around when I sweat on a regular basis.  But, perhaps I don’t need to do triathlons?  I really don’t like swimming all that much.  Maybe duathlons (which are just run-bike-run)?  Or something completely different?  My trainer had mentioned the idea of power-lifting competitions.  Interesting concept…

So, what am I happy about this week?  Having the time to come to the realization that I’m an adult and can therefore make all sorts of decisions about what I do and how I spend my time.  Aside from job responsibilities and such, there’s very little that I have to do.  I know!  Very forward-thinking concept!

Leave a Reply

