Happy Friday #11: Problem solved

(on Fridays around these parts, I take a little time to make sure that all the happy things happening in my life get a shout out)

I work in the I.T. industry, and since I’m employed by a small company, I get to do a little bit of everything.  I usually try drawing the line at fixing the copier machines (just because I know how doesn’t mean I’m the only one who can change the toner cartridge), but everything else electronic is fair game.

That means that it’s fairly routine that recurring, mysterious problems will land on my desk.  Sometimes the answer is a google search away, other times it takes a little magic and pixie dust to make it happen.

Every once in awhile, there’s an issue that’s utterly perplexing:  a repeatable, consistent problem, but no idea what might be causing it.  Well, this week I cracked the Case Of The Disappearing Icon.  Sounds harmless enough, but it pertained to our antivirus/firewall software so it needed to be solved.

A little bit of luck, a bit of a lightning bolt idea and VOILA!  I’ve figured it out.  I still don’t understand it entirely, but I know why it’s happening.

And that makes me feel good.  I might not usually like my job all that much, but when I can solve problems that no one else has been able to?  I feel a little like a computer systems Superwoman.

And now I’ve earned the right to go home for the day, right?  Like time off for good behavior? Right??

3 responses to “Happy Friday #11: Problem solved

  1. Remoteingenuity

    Might I ask what the issue was? Also in the IT industry. Would be interesting to know.

  2. We’re using Symantec Endpoint Protection and on a specific model of laptop running Vista, the product wasn’t always starting up correctly. This particular laptop has a built-in Verizon Wireless card and the issue turned out to be related to the order in which the network adapters were being bound at startup. Very odd problem.

  3. Earned the right to go home for the day huh? who said or told you that Laura?

    I.T. huh?

    I should e-mail you a funny story about the time I thought I was jesus because of an IT savvy prankster!

    you’ll love it

Leave a Reply

