Destination: Ten years from now

(I’ve started using the service Plinky to occasionally generate ideas for blog posts…. The question posed this time was, What will your life be like 10 years from now?)

It’s funny, because in some ways, 10 years seems as far away as it did when I was a teenager — the era of your life where time stands still and you can’t even fathom being in your twenties. I mean, that was OLD.

In other ways? 10 years is a blink of the eye. A snippet of time that will pass before I can even acknowledge it whooshing by.

In another 10 years, I’ll be the big 5-0. I think I still have the same hopes and dreams for the next 10 years that I did 10 years ago… to find that special someone, to figure out a way to be happy and satisfied with whatever the current moment holds, and even perhaps manage to become independently wealthy so I can give up the 9 to 5 routine.

There are a lot of ways that I’ve made progress on these goals in the past 10 years, so I’m optimistic that the next 10 will see more steps forward, moving towards some of the things that I long for in life. All while enjoying what I have and appreciating the journey to get there, knowing that the getting there is usually more meaningful than the arriving.

Leave a Reply

