Hi Internet!

It’s been awhile since I’ve graced the internet with my literary presence (hi Internet!!  Did you miss me??), and I figured that I’d give you the thumbnail of my life in the next couple of installments (hmmm… I suppose if it takes a couple of “installments” I can’t necessarily refer to it as a “thumbnail”, now, can I…).  An introduction of sorts.

My name’s Laura, have just started inching into my 40’s and have lived in the Chicago ‘burbs just about all my life.  Mine’s a pretty mundane existence, but that suits me pretty well most of the time.  I’ve spent the better years of my life ignoring the fact that I found chicks totally hot, but finally admitted it — both to myself and to my family and friends — about 2 years ago.  Since then?  I’ve done the online dating thing, done the first date thing too many times to count, done the weekend spent together and over thing too.  What I haven’t done?  An actual relationship.

But, I’m getting there.  If you read back through my old posts, you’ll find someone who was still kind of searching for an identity.  Realizing I was gay, but still not feeling completely comfortable in my own skin.  A lot of my growing pains were spewed here on virtual paper for the internet to read, helping me to sort through some of the emotions.  I think better in writing, ya know?

And then, I took a break.  A long break.  It almost got to the point where I was thinking thinking thinking… and not much action.  But – back now.  And with a better sense of self, I’d say.  I’m such a homebody by nature, but I’m determined to be more social.  I still don’t believe that I’m going to meet Ms. Right in a bar or club, but on the other hand, it can’t hurt for me to get out and meet more lesbians.  I mean, fact is, being straight for 38 or so years left me with a very straight life.  With few exceptions, my friends are straight, married and have kids.  Doesn’t leave a whole lot of room for single, childless, gay me.

Okay – so that sounds like I’m starting my own pity party, but it’s not:  it’s simply the way things are.  What that means to me is that I need to broaden my friend base, start networking, find new gay chicks to hang out with … because in my mind, my best shot at meeting someone romantically?  Getting set up by a friend. Right?

At least that’s what I’m thinking right now.  I don’t live all that close to the gay scene in Chicago, but I’ve just started (like, this past weekend) getting out there, seeing what it’s all about.  And I’m excited to see what I find out there.  Don’t worry:  I’ll take y’all along for the ride.

Next installment?  My living situation.  I know – what a cliffhanger I’m leaving for you guys!

Leave a Reply

