My own biggest loser. Kinda.

So, my 3rd BHAG (Big Hairy Audacious Goal) from the other day was to drop 4% body fat and 10-15 pounds.  I’ve been yo-yo-ing these 10 pounds for a few years now, so it’s not like I don’t know how to take it off, but this time around it just seems harder.  Whether age is starting to play a bigger role or perhaps I’m just not being as strong (perhaps cookies now have some sort of addictive substance in them??), it occurred to me today that I need a better  incentive.

Not that looking hot in my bikini isn’t incentive, but I want to up the stakes a bit and this is what I’ve come up with:

Until I lose 6 pounds (to get down to a nice, round number), I am not allowed to buy anything non-essential.  Nada.  Nothing.  The idea came to me when I came across an article outline singing the praises of some sweet-smelling bath products and I wanted them.  Was about to click through to purchase and stopped.  Thought, I don’t really need that.  And the rest followed:  why not allow myself to buy them once I’ve reached a midpoint goal?

(of course, this was also triggered by a year-end review of finances … and let’s just say that 2011 was obviously the Year of the Impulse Buy…)

Once I hit the 11 pound loss mark (another round number, of course) and stay under that number for at least 2 weeks, I’m splurging on a big running clothes/shoes shopping spree!  Maybe I’ll even buy some fun things for the workout room in the basement.

So, that’s what I’m going to do.  And the fun side effect?  I should save some money towards that last BHAG of mine — the apartment in the city.  Maybe I’ll even be able to afford to buy a futon to sleep on once I get there!

The important part?  The incentive isn’t food.  And once I hit the goal? There’s incentive to stay there.

(tangent:  I’m watching the actual Biggest Loser show and a father says of his son when his son was confronted with running a 40-yard dash: “he has a hard time running long distances like that” … 40 yards, people.  40 yards. Really – “long” distance?)

Leave a Reply

